逾十五年的创作交流关于劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

icon-clock阅读需时: 1m05s
icon-scroll-down

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)旨在推动全球文化发展。本计划发掘世界各地具天赋的年轻艺术家,让他们与艺术大师携手创作,并在此期间接受一对一的悉心指导。

劳力士秉承支持卓越、优质和表现的传统,让艺术新秀有充足时间学习、创作及成长。

自2002年,劳力士在舞蹈、电影、文学、音乐、戏剧、视觉艺术以及建筑领域,将多位新秀与大师结为师徒。本计划不断演化,让来自不同世代、文化及领域的艺术家互相交流,协助将现有的艺术精神传承至下一代。

计划模式

每隔两年,杰出艺术家和艺术从业者组成新任顾问团,推荐并确认导师人选。当艺术家获得通知并同意担任导师后,劳力士便会与他们共同拟定门生人选的标准。故此,每对师徒均经过精心甄选。

年轻艺术家不能直接提交申请。劳力士为每门艺术设立提名小组,成员皆为资深专家,负责从世界各地发掘符合导师要求的门生人选。小组成员审核所有申请后,从中为所属领域选出三位最终入围者。最后,劳力士会安排导师与最终入围人选见面,由导师各自挑选一位门生。

指导期
劳力士要求导师和门生进行不少于六星期的互动,通常他们交流的时间会比要求更长。双方可自由决定地点和合作方式,不论是门生造访导师的工作环境,或两师徒共同创作亦可。

支持
指导期间,劳力士将支持门生的经济所需,亦会津贴他们的旅费及其他主要费用。指导期结束后,每位门生均可申请一笔资金,以助创作新作品、出版、表演或公开活动。至于导师,他们则获得微酬,答谢他们在时间、指导及其他资源上的付出。

后续
劳力士将在指导期结束后,继续与门生保持联系,并推广他们的艺术作品。门生或事业蒸蒸日上,或在另一领域发展,或与其他门生合作,更有些选择担任计划导师。

指导传统

跟随导师学习交流,蜕变成为真正的艺术家,这个指导模式源远流长,其正式规范初见于古希腊黄金时代伟大思想家的作品中。

在近代历史中,著名的师徒包括德国作曲家和指挥家克里斯蒂安・戈特洛宝・奈弗(Christian Gottlieb Neefe),他是音乐天才路德维希・凡・贝多芬(Ludwig van Beethoven)的学习榜样;法国印象派画家卡米耶・毕沙罗(Camille Pissarro)毕生竭力栽培保罗・高更(Paul Gauguin)、乔治・修拉(Georges Seurat)及保罗・塞尚(Paul Cézanne)等年轻画家。

时至近年,导师指导渐渐被忘却。然而,这个模式在艺术以外的范畴,例如商业和教育等不同领域中,再度备受推崇,视为高效的学习途径。

劳力士秉承支持卓越成就的传统,致力在艺术领域复兴指导传统。本计划的门生能够接触世上最成功的艺术家,而这些大师亦得以透过此机遇分享其智慧、经验及构想。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

Search on rolex.org

Two decades of creative exchangesABOUT THE ROLEX ARTS INITIATIVE

Time to read: 1min 58s

The Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative was set up to make a contribution to global culture. The programme seeks out gifted young artists from all over the world and brings them together with artistic masters for a period of creative collaboration in a one-to-one mentoring relationship.

In keeping with its tradition of supporting individual excellence, Rolex gives emerging artists time to learn, create and grow.

Since 2002, Rolex has paired mentors and protégés in dance, film, literature, music, theatre, visual arts, architecture and an open category covering interdisciplinary pursuits. The mentoring programme has evolved into an enriching dialogue between artists of different generations, cultures and disciplines, helping ensure that the world’s artistic heritage is passed on to the next generation.

How the programme works?

Every two years, a new advisory board of distinguished artists and arts practitioners suggests and endorses potential mentors. Once the mentors have been approached and have agreed to take part, Rolex works with them to establish a profile of the protégé they would like to work with. Each mentorship is therefore tailor-made.

Young artists cannot apply directly to the programme. Rather, nominating panels – one panel for each artistic discipline – are assembled. The expert panel members identify suitable potential protégés, who are then invited by Rolex to submit applications. Panel members study these applications and recommend three finalists from their respective discipline. Finally, Rolex arranges for the mentor to meet the finalists and choose his or her protégé.

The mentoring period
Mentors and protégés are asked to spend a minimum of six weeks together over a two-year period, though many spend considerably more time. They agree on where and how they want to interact. This may mean a protégé is granted access to a master at work, or to a mentor and protégé actually collaborating on a work.

Support
Rolex financially supports protégés during the mentorship while also contributing to their travel costs and other major expenses. Once the mentoring period is over, each protégé can apply for a fund to facilitate the creation of a new piece of work, a publication, a performance or public event. As for the mentors, they are financially compensated for the time, guidance and other resources they provide.

The future
After the mentoring period, Rolex stays in touch with the protégés and continues to promote their work. Many of the protégés have gone on to significant careers, have changed disciplines, collaborated with each other and have become mentors themselves.

The heritage of mentoring

Engaging with a mentor as a way to learn and achieve full potential as an artist is an ancient and respected practice. The formalized process appears in the works of the great thinkers of the golden age of the Greeks.

In more recent history, famous mentoring pairs include German composer and conductor Christian Gottlieb Neefe who was a role model for the boy prodigy Ludwig van Beethoven and French impressionist painter Camille Pissarro who devoted his life to nurturing young painters such as Paul Gauguin, Georges Seurat and Paul Cézanne.

Only in relatively recent times has mentoring been neglected. However, it is once again gaining popularity as an effective learning approach in diverse fields beyond the arts, including business and education.

Rolex’s vision for revitalizing mentorship in the arts is in keeping with its tradition of supporting individual excellence. Protégés in the programme are granted unparalleled access to the greatest artists in the world, many of whom welcome the opportunity to share wisdom, experience and ideas.

COMMUNITY

Rolex Arts Initiative

The Rolex Arts Initiative has evolved into a global creative community that has enabled an enriching dialogue between artists of different generations, cultures and disciplines. Since 2002 nearly 1,200 people in 107 countries have been nominated for the programme. Advisors include 144 major artists and creative leaders, while 273 influential figures in the arts have nominated young artists and selected finalists. 58 of the world’s greatest artists have served as mentors.

EXPLORE THE COLLABORATIONS

Rolex has paired mentors and protégés in the fields of architecture, dance, film, literature, music, theatre and visual arts in a unique creative exchange.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover